The Central State Hospital Campus began life in 1837 as a mental health institution. The original 40 acres was purchased for $4,000 which included a two-story structure, a well, vineyard, orchard and four acres of land for cultivation. The first building officially opened on November 1, 1842. The first patient, by the name of Tilman B, was admitted that same month. It grew to a zenith in the 1960’s with over 12,000 patients, 6,000 employees, and encompassed over 8,000 acres. CSH was a city unto itself, with a completely independent infrastructure system, police force and postal services. At one time in the 1960’s the CSH was the largest facility in the world for the centralized treatment of mental health clients.
Today, the Hospital has 200 building and sits on about 2,000 acres of land. Central State Hospital has seen many changes over the 171 years of service. It has managed to become a site for rich history for the Milledgeville community. Central State was once a major economic asset for Milledgeville as well as for the state of Georgia. But since the late 1960’s, the Campus has steadily declined as treatment of the population became more regional and decentralized.
Fort Wilkinson was built in 1797 as a trading post so the Creek Nation of Indians could avoid crossing the river for trading purposes. Fort Wilkinson also marks the site of the Treaty of Limits which was signed in 1802.
Fort Wilkinson rests on Vinson Highway in Milledgeville, Ga. Fort Wilkinson was entrusted in the care of the Nancy Hart Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution.